I will come if I get time – What does that mean to you?

“I will come if I get time” – What does that mean to you? It simply tells me that there is no planning at all. You are not sure of what you are going to do actually.

Let me put it this way: Suppose I wish to invite a very good friend of mine for my daughter’s birthday. “I am throwing a grand party tonight for my daughter’s birthday. Your presence would feel my family privilege.” As one could see, that’s a very generous invitation. However, in most cases, the answer would be “I will come if I get time”, and that really is devastating the total generosity.

In our society, we don’t control time, rather time controls us. And for those people who moves with the waves of ocean would believe that time should in fact control everything. For them, time will tell them what to do and where to go. Unfortunately, if time does not dictate them, life for them would be very destructive. What I mean to say is that you ought to control the time by having proper planning of what you are going to do next. In that way, we will never tell “I will come if I get time”, rather our answer would be “Sorry, I have to do that”, or “Ok, I am free tonight”. This shows how certain you are when you have planning. It also indicate that you know exactly what your next program is. Without plan, you are not definite of what you will be doing; and you are not certain of your timing in real sense.

Every year, we receive hundreds of tourists. If you happen to interact with any tourist, ask them this question: “When did you start your preparation to visit Bhutan?” Probably, their answer would be “since one year” or “two years ago” or even more. So you see how they plan. This does not mean that we have to be like them, but it is always good to prepare what we are going to do the next day.

We Bhutanese are too Buddhist, and I extremely love that character. This is one of the magical effects for Bhutan which we should never let it die. And, so, from the Buddhist perspective, we say “we never know when will we die, and therefore, why should we plan.” Suppose, you are seriously sick, and visit Jigme Dorji Wangchuck National Referral Hospital now and then, see the doctors, make appointment after appointment, perform expensive rituals, even withdraw huge sum of money to visit Bangkok Hospital. What are you doing here? If you say “we never know when we will die,” then what’s the whole purpose of making efforts to cure the illness? The meals we eat, the work we do, the money we save, the lesson we learn, etc. and etc. are all geared towards living happy and prosperous life. We are not doing things for death, but to survive and live happy life.

Every morning give us a new start. We may have several things to be accomplished. But, how many of us walk the morning office with clear sense of what we are going to accomplish for the day? I walk with a vague sense, really. Sitting down on the chair, turning on the computer, checking the e-mails, and dealing with whatever comes to the table would not really provide satisfactory result. Your day must be too busy, and although you came to the office early and left very late, you don’t feel as if you have accomplished anything significant. This is something to be reflected on.

Similarly, how do we spend our weekends? Do we walk to the Monday morning office with full contentment? I don’t know how many does that. For many of us, being able to accommodate work-life balance, including things like dieting, relaxation, and working out each is a serious challenge. Everyday carbohydrate rich diet – rice and potato for every meals – is probably not healthy diet. As important as it is to schedule the things that can balance our diet, so it is for our entire activities. Effective planning and management can make things easier.

When I write this, I instantly remember what Abraham Lincoln once said: “Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.” Preparation and planning therefore is indispensable part of life. At the end of the day, aren’t we looking for prosperous and happy life?

Leave a Reply

